My Journey from Digital Connectors to Employment

by Bryant Wright, Comcast Digital Connectors Program Graduate

Img-15Greetings!  My name is Bryant Wright and my journey into computer engineering started in my junior year at Dillard High, where I was enrolled in the Hi-Tech Magnet program. In that program, I was later introduced to another program that would brighten my horizon. The program that I speak of is called the Comcast Digital Connectors Program, offered by my local HandsOn Network affiliate, HandsOn Broward.

Digital Connectors wasn’t just a program that taught the latest computer skills – it was a program that taught me about giving back and spreading the knowledge that I was receiving. I was involved in many volunteer activities such as planting trees in a park, giving a school a fresh coat of paint, teaching the elderly how to use computers and holding an e-recycle drop-off event to allow the public to drop off old computers, monitors, and printers to be properly recycled.

33542_1546731741350_1220798_nNear the end of the program I was honored with the Comcast Digital Connectors Award for my outstanding work and involvement in the community. I was honored in Washington DC in front of thousands. This was a special time because it was my first time on a plane and my first time traveling out of state. I left the Digital Connectors program with a Cisco Computer Literacy certification, the ability to take my A+ Certification for free, increased skills and knowledge, and most importantly – the value of what it means to be a volunteer.

71925_1546730061308_812344_nSeven years after the program and graduating high school, I’m currently enrolled in college in pursuit of my bachelors degree in Computer Engineering. I am employed at the Museum of Discovery and Science as a computer tech, where I’ve been for 9 years. I started at the museum as a volunteer but because of the skills I obtained from the Digital Connectors program, I was able to land an internship at the museum.  That internship later turned into a part-time and then a full-time position.  On top of all that, I’m enlisted in the Air Force Reserve and have started my own IT solutions business named “TECH-IT LLC”. With all that going on, I still find time to give back to my community by volunteering with a program called “The Dennis Project”, where I mentor and help teach S.T.E.M to urban communities.


Want to learn more about how you can become part of the Comcast Digital Connectors Program?  Contact Sophia DiNardo, HandsOn Broward’s Digital Connectors Program Instructor at 954-233-1300 or sophia@handsonbroward.org.

One thought on “My Journey from Digital Connectors to Employment

Leave a Reply

